Friday, June 17, 2016

NEW: David Bowie live in Cologne 1978 - 2CD - May 19

David Bowie - Cologne 78

Date: 1978-05-19
Venue: Kölner Sporthalle
City: Cologne
Country: Germany

Remaster details:

- Downsample the 2 x 96/24 files to 48/24
- Remove gaps
- Bass lowered a bit, treble lifted a bit
- Some dehissing
- audience noise reduced between songs
- show announcer added at start of concert from different source tape
- Downsample the 48/24 file to 44.1/16
- Special treatment for section starting in middle part of Alabama Song until end of Station To Station (this section has a
  duller sound):
  Treble lifted substantially, middle frequencies reduced
Total running time: Disc 1 Running time 52:07 / Disc 2 Running Time 59:22
(as we learn from the announcer before the start of the show the concert was performed in two parts with a break of approx. 15 min. in the middle).

Especially before the start of the 2nd half there is a lot of guys shouting to others to sit down, what they obviously refuse to do. So they get insulted with at that time very fashionable cusswords. The whole thing is on one side a bit annoying and on the other side (if you understand German) quite funny as in the 70's it was an unwritten law (at least in Germany) to sit down on the floor during the whole show and listen to the music devotionally. That changed radically one or two years later caused by the Punk movement which penetrated also through "normal" rock events.

The show itself is nice even if it seems to be quite a routine for David as he is not talking anything between songs with the exception of the band introduction. The sound is nearly excellent (except for the section from Alabama Song and Station To Station) and I would estimate it slightly better than the well known version by by jamesthecat upped to MWP in 2009.


Disc One
01. announcer
02. Warszawa
03. "Heroes"
04. What In The World
05. Be My Wife
06. The Jean Genie
07. Blackout
08. Sense Of Doubt
09. Speed Of Life
10. Breaking Glass
11. Fame
12. Beauty And The Beast

Disc Two
01. crowd
02. band introduction
03. Five Years
04. Soul Love
05. Star
06. Hang On To Yourself
07. Ziggy Stardust
08. Suffragette City
09. Art Decade
10. Alabama Song
11. Station To Station
12. encore call 1
13. Stay
14. TVC 15
15. encore call 2
16. Rebel Rebel

The band:

David Bowie - vocals, chamberlain
Adrian Belew - lead guitar, backing vocals
Carlos Alomar - rhythm guitar, backing vocals
George Murray - bass guitar, backing vocals
Dennis Davis - drums, percussion
Roger Powell - keyboards, synthesizer, backing vocals
Sean Mayes - piano, string ensemble, backing vocals
Simon House - electric violin

Download this bootleg here

No comments:

Post a Comment