Monday, January 25, 2016

RE-UP: David Bowie live in Auckland 1987 - 2CD - November 28

DAVID BOWIE - Auckland 1987-11-28

Western Springs Stadium, Auckland, New Zealand

Audience recording
Number of discs: 2
Artwork: included
Total running time: Disc 1: 58:43; Disc 2: 52:10


Disc 1

1. Purple Haze
2. Carlos's Guitar Intro
3. Up The Hill Backwards
4. Glass Spider
5. Up The Hill Backwards
6. Day In Day Out
7. Bang Bang
8. Absolute Beginners
9. Loving The Alien
10. China Girl
11. Rebel Rebel
12. Fashion
13. All The Madmen
14. Never Let Me Down
15. Big Brother
16. Chant Of The Ever Circling Skeletal Family

Disc 2

1. 87 & Cry
2. Heroes
3. Sons Of The Silent Age
4. Time Will Crawl
5. band introductions
6. Young Americans
7. The Jean Genie
8. Let's Dance
9. Fame
10. Blue Jean
11. I Wanna Be Your Dog
12. White Light/White Heat


End of Purple Haze is cut on source tape.  Fade out/in to Guitar intro.
Gap removed @ 1:03 in Carlos's Guitar Intro - minimal impact
Gap removed @ 3:57 in Loving The Alien - couple of seconds missing
Another gap removed @ 3:07 in Fashion - couple of seconds missing

Tape flip after Fashion, of which the ending is cut.
No sign of Scary Monsters (if played) on the source tape and the lion's share of All The Madmen is also missing.
Cut between Chant Of The Ever Circling Skeletal Family and 87 & Cry.  Minimal loss of music, and used as the opportunity to split discs.

Cut at 3:30 in Young Americans.  Some music lost, fade-out/in
Tape split during Let's Dance - seamless, but required slight speed adjustment before the split.
End of Let's Dance, dancer intros.  Needed some editing, as taper was speaking into the mic to do level tests.
Interruptions continue into start of Fame, part of which had to be removed.

Sound quality deteriorates for the encores (distorted, static interferenced) on source tape


No comments:

Post a Comment